Resistance in the Computer Lab

L.T. Garvin
2 min readMar 8, 2022

When Supervision Goes Down

Today I am the Computer Lab Supervisor in charge of enforcing the rules among the teenage students: no games, no food or drink, no phones, no horseplay, and basically any activity where they would even approach contentment.

Taking attendance is easy these days because everyone’s name is now: Bro.
The conversation begins with me giving the orders:
“Work on your presentations!”
“But miss, this is my presentation.”
“That doesn’t look like any business presentation that I have ever seen…”
“What??? No Miss, this isn’t a game-game… it's a learning game. Hey Bro!”

“Did you just hit him over there? Didn’t I say o keep your hands…Wait, is that a cheeseburger? Are you eating in here???? And you, where have you been?”

“I was in the restroom, Miss.”

“No you weren’t, that was too long, were you wandering the halls?”

“Seriously Miss, I’m sick, can I go to the nurse?”

“No, you MAY not go, you just want to wander around…”

None of the natives seem to be interested in business or a proposal or in promoting anything. I take a room survey trying to decide the hostility level. I’m wondering about Bro in the corner with his hood pulled over his head and his computer screen turned away from me. Is he on task? Of course, he is, but he does not want to…

--

--

L.T. Garvin

Lana Broussard writing as L.T. Garvin , Author -English Teacher - ESL Tutor — Writes Fiction, Poetry, and Various Articles on the Quandries of Life.