Finding Meaning Inside Air

Why we cry in corners

L.T. Garvin
2 min readOct 6, 2022

Inside the classroom, the air is descending

The clock is ticking in countdown

It’s just a drill today, the intercom blasts

LOCKDOWN, LOCKDOWN!

I walk briskly to the desk

Snatching up the keyboard

Looking for the key underneath

Where’s the key?

“Are we gonna die, Miss?”

“Of course not!” I snap, letting calmer air fill my calamity

Pushing the tragedy away

“You don’t have a key???”

They ask incredulously

I want to breathe up all the air in the world

A breath of prayer into my angel grandmother’s ear

One thousand and two times

I have mind-played this scene

Lock the door, shutter it with a bookcase or desks

How many desks?

I would drag them with superhuman strength

Straight across the white tiles

Shutting the mouth of rage

Outside the door

Barricade it with desks

Their plastic chairs shine the meaning

Of life itself

--

--

L.T. Garvin

Lana Broussard writing as L.T. Garvin , Author -English Teacher - ESL Tutor — Writes Fiction, Poetry, and Various Articles on the Quandries of Life.